Franklin & Marshall Picked to Defend Title

Erin Coverdale, Franklin & Marshall
Erin Coverdale, Franklin & Marshall

Team-by-Team PreviewRecord Book 

Defending champion Franklin & Marshall is the preseason favorite to win the 2018 Centennial championship in a poll of Conference coaches.

The Diplomats received seven first-place votes and 97 points to edge 2017 runner-up Johns Hopkins, who garnered four firsts and 92 points. Ursinus was the No. 3 choice with 86 points, followed by Haverford (65) and Washington College (60) to round out the top five.


2018 Preseason Poll

1-Franklin & Marshall (7) 97
2-Johns Hopkins (4) 89
3-Ursinus 86
4-Haverford 65
5-Washington College 60
6-Dickinson 55
7-Gettysburg 54
8-Muhlenberg 41
9-Swarthmore 25
10-Bryn Mawr 20
11-McDaniel 13

 (#) first-place votes



Returning All-Conference Players

First Team

Pos / Name, Cl, Hometown / High School

F-Erin Coverdale, Franklin & Marshall, Jr., Lewes, DE / Cape Henlopen
D-Bridget Sherry, Ursinus, Sr., Swarthmore, PA / Strath Haven
D-Grace Hillman, Johns Hopkins, Sr., Stockton, NJ / Lawrenceville School
F-Kailyn Brandt, Washington College, Soph., White Hall, MD / Hereford
GK-Jodie Baris, Johns Hopkins, Jr., Westport, CT / Staples

Second Team

M-Emma Bertrando, Gettysburg, Soph., West Chester, PA / Henderson
M-Jillian Beemon, Dickinson, Jr., Ann Arbor, MI / Skyline
M-Rachel Gordon, Haverford, Jr., Winnetka, IL / North Shore Country Day
M-Erin Saybolt, Ursinus, Jr., Souderton, PA / Souderton
M-Julia Soares, Gettysburg, Jr., Barrington, RI / Barrington
D-Sara Rilatt, Bryn Mawr, Soph., York, PA / Central York
GK-Ilianna Santangelo, Franklin & Marshall, Sr., Sudbury, MA / Saint Marks

Honorable Mention

F-Megan Quattrone, McDaniel, Sr., Carlisle, PA / Carlisle
M-Nicole Schroyer, Washington College, Sr., Stevensville, MD / Kent Island
D-Caroline Aronowitz, Haverford, Jr., Columbus, OH / Columbus Academy
GK-Zelda Bank, Swarthmore, Sr., Dusseldorf, Germany / Lexington (Mass.)
M-Katie McErlean, Johns Hopkins, Jr., Phoenixville, PA / Phoenixville
D-Paige West, McDaniel, Sr., Reading, PA / Muhlenberg

Offensive Player of the Year
Erin Coverdale, Franklin & Marshall

Defensive Player of the Year
Grace Hillman, Johns Hopkins

Rookie of the Year
Kailyn Brandt, Washington College