Milaszewski's No-Hitter, Gutpelet's Walk-Off Send Dickinson to Title Game

Milaszewski's No-Hitter, Gutpelet's Walk-Off Send Dickinson to Title Game

Championship Central

Second-seeded Dickinson edged top-seeded Haverford 1-0 in eight innings in Friday's winner's bracket contest, sending the Red Devils to the Centennial Conference Softball Championship. Madison Milaszewski turned in a remarkable performance in the circle, flirting with a perfect game as she tossed a no-hitter, surrendering one walk while recording eight strikeouts.

Marissa Fabbo led-off the bottom of the eight inning and moved to third on a sacrifice bunt from Alissa Lema. That set the stage for a walk-off single from sophomore Brigitte Gutpelet to send the Red Devils to the final.

Milaszewski's no-hitter is the third in the history of the Centennial Conference Tournament, and first since 2010. She joins Swarthmore's Kathryn Riley (2010 vs. Ursinus) and McDaniel's Samantha Abrams (2002 vs. Muhlenberg) as the other pitcher's to twirl no-hitters in the conference postseason. 

Dickinson will next face the winner of Saturday's 11 a.m. matchup between No. 1 Haverford and No. 4 Swarthmore. 

In Friday's elimination game, the fourth-seeded Garnet rallied to defeat third-seeded Ursinus 6-5. 

Ursinus jumped out to a 4-0 lead in the bottom of the second, but Swarthmore responded with three runs in the top of the third to pull within 4-3. The Garnet led off the top of the seventh with back-to-back triples en route to taking the lead for good. 

Marit Vike led the Garnet with a 3-for-4 performance while Mika Maenega knocked in two RBIs and scored twice. 

Centennial Conference Softball Tournament Schedule

Tuesday, April 30 at #1 & #2 seeds 

Game 1: #1 Haverford d. #4 Swarthmore, 7-2

Game 2: #2 Dickinson d. #3 Ursinus, 9-1 (6 inn.)

Friday, May 3 at #1 Haverford | Haverford, Pa. 

Game 3: #4 Swarthmore 6, #3 Ursinus 5

Game 4: #2 Dickinson 1, #1 Haverford 0 (8 inn.)

Saturday, May 4 at #1 Haverford | Haverford, Pa. 

Game 5: #1 Haverford vs. #4 Swarthmore, 11 a.m. 

Game 6: #2 Dickinson vs. Winner of Game 5

Game 7: if necessary, only if Winner of Game 5 wins Game 6