Four Straight for Quack Attack

Four Straight for Quack Attack

LEXINGTON, Va. (February 10, 2018)  – No. 17 Stevens Institute of Technology wrestling won six individual championships Saturday en route to the program's fourth straight Centennial Conference championship.

Junior Joey Borai (125 pounds), sophomore Troy Stanich (133 pounds), freshman Brett Kaliner (141 pounds), sophomore Dylan Van Sickell (149 pounds), senior Zach Wilhelm and junior Thomas Poklikuha were each victorious in their respective weight classes as Stevens amassed 100 points to win the championship by 38.5 points over United States Merchant Marine Academy. Stevens placed six wrestlers into the championship bouts and came away victorious in all six matches. Host Washington and Lee University (56.5 points), Gettysburg College (56 points) and Johns Hopkins University (51 points) rounded out the top five.

Wilhelm was named the championship's Outstanding Wrestler after collecting a pair of technical falls and a decision victory on his way to the 157-pound title. The Tuckerton, New Jersey native was also the recipient of the Chris Clifford Award, given out to wrestler for the most career points in the championship. 

The Ducks joined Ursinus College and Merchant Marine as programs winning four-straight Centennial Championships. Ursinus was first to pull off the feat, winning four straight from 2003-07 and Merchant Marine followed from 2008-11. 

Washington and Lee posted its best finish ever in the Centennial championship with its third-place finish. Muhlenberg's Gennaro Cerminara became the Mules' first individual champion since 2009 with a victory at 197. Gettysburg 285 Paul Triandafilou became the Bullets' first repeat champion since Andrew Goldstein won three straight at 157 from 2007-09.

Despite being shut out in gold medals, Ursinus still leads all Centennial schools with 56 champions since 1994. McDaniel is second (43), followed by Muhlenberg (39), Stevens (32), Merchant Marine (29), Gettysburg (23), Johns Hopkins (23), Swarthmore (2), Washington and Lee (2) and NYU (1).


Team Scoring

  1. Stevens (SIT), 100
  2. Merchant Marine (MM), 61.5
  3. Washington and Lee (W&L), 56.5
  4. Gettysburg (GET), 56
  5. Johns Hopkins (JHU), 51
  6. Ursinus (URS), 43.5
  7. Muhlenberg (MUH), 31.5
  8. McDaniel (MCD), 4.5

Championship Bouts

125-Joey Borai (SIT) won by medical forfeit vs. Chris Tan (URS)

133-Troy Stanich (SIT) d. Ricky Cavallo (JHU), 6-2

141-Brett Kaliner (SIT) d. Zach Bylykbashi (W&L), 8-4

149-Dylan Van Sickell (SIT) p. Bryce Crew (W&L), 2:36

157-Zach Wilhelm (SIT) d. Kieran Duggan (MM), 19-1 (4:23)

165-Tom Poklikuha (SIT) d. Colin Kowalski (GET), 4-0

174-Josh Glantzman (MM) d. Brandon Lefore (W&L), 2-0 SV-1

184-Isaac Morales (JHU) d. Rexx Hallyburton (W&L), 3-2 TB-1

197-Gennaro Cerminara (MUH) d. Blake Bunce (MM), 7-6 TB-1

285-Paul Triandafilou (GET) d. Victor Raigoza (MM), 3-1

Third-Place Bouts

125-Lenny Ogozalek (GET) d. Christian Vallis (JHU), 8-3

133-Austin Sherman (MUH) d. Ray Calderaio (URS), 6-2

141-Lucas Escobar (JHU) d. Sean Thompson (GET), 8-6

149-Colin Devlin (GET) p. Connor Joyce (JHU), 5:35

157-Dominick Reyes (JHU) d. Shane Conners (W&L), 4-3 TB-1

165-Dylan Schwartz (MUH) d. Christian Willoughby (MM), 13-5

174-Josh Smith (SIT) d. Austin Roskos (GET), 7-1

184-Kurtis Hahn (MM) d. Ben Maack (URS), 7-3

197-Deon Edmond (URS) won by medical forfeit vs. Anthony Puca (GET)

285-Billy McGinley (URS) d. Matt Kaminer (W&L), 3-1 SV-1